The Advice They Give

This week, I was\am clearly struggling. I told my wife and my two best friends. My wife and one of my friends (in separate conversations) started naming all the good things in my life, things like good kids, good job ect. I know they were just trying to help and make me feel grateful, but it doesn’t work. It just reminds me that I am not good enough to deserve these things. Also, makes me feel guilty for feeling depressed. Also, makes me wonder if the good things would be better off without me, like maybe I drag them down or taint it. Point is, you can’t reason your way out.

My other buddy throws Bible verses at me. Again, just trying to help, but it really doesn’t. Just makes me feel like I am failing as a Christian. 

~James

Published by My Made Up Hard Life

I am a man with depression and anxiety. I struggle daily with staying on task and staying positive. I am married with 2 kids; a boy and a girl. Learning to love life. Trying to stay on course with God's path for me.

One thought on “The Advice They Give

  1. Sounds like they need to be taught how to be supportive to someone struggling with depression. It might be helpful if you have them a book or a website or something to help them be more supportive to you during these times. But first you have to be honest with them and tell them that while you understand they are trying to help, the things they are saying don’t help you at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment